Skip to Content
Healthcare Professionals

Postgraduate Award Winners 2020-2021


Clive Archer THESIS Fellowship (£500 - Dr Maruthappu has kindly donated her award to the British Skin Foundation)

  • Dr Thivi Maruthappu, Queen Mary University of London

Thesis title: The Genetic and Functional Basis of Three Inherited Palmoplantar Keratodermas in Human Disease.

Highly Commended (£250)

  • Dr Esther Burden-Teh, University of Nottingham

Thesis title: Improving our understanding between childhood psoriasis and juvenile psoriatic arthritis; Identifying opportunities for early intervention for the prevention of long-term harm.


BAD/DC Travel Fellowship (£500)

  • Dr Leila Asfour - Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut: 1 week in Spring/Summer 2021
  • Dr Conor Broderick - 1. International Society of Atopic Dermatitis (ISAD) Annual meeting: 19-20 April 2021 Virtual 2. European Society of Paediatric dermatology (ESPD) Annual meeting: 12-14 May 2021 Virtual 3. World Congress of Paediatric Dermatology (WCPD): 22-25 September 2021, Edinburgh
  • Dr William Haw - 1. Onychology course, Brussels 2. 1 week  observership at Saint-Pierre University Hospital, Brussels: October 2021

Consultant Sabbatical Fellowship (£20,000)

  • Dr Sharon Belmo - 1. Kindred Hair and Skin Center, Columbia: 3-28 May 2021 2. Lenzy Dermatology, Massachusetts 3. Osei-Tutu Dermatology, New York 4. KMC Hair Center, Kansas: 3 May-27 August 2021

Geoffrey Dowling Fellowship (£25,000)

  • Dr Chantal Cotter - 1. Boston Children's Hospital 2. Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts, USA: 1 July 2021-30 June 2022

Wycombe Prize (£200 and 'The Wycombe Chair')

  • Dr Christos Tziotzios



AAD & BAD Registration Scholarship
American Academy of Dermatology 80th Annual Meeting, Boston, Massachusetts: 25-29 March 2022
AAD - Complimentary meeting registration, admission to one ticketed half-day course and $1,000 USD stipend.
BAD - £1,000

  • Dr Wisam Alwan
  • Dr Charlotte Edwards
  • Dr William Haw
  • Dr Jingyuan Xu

BAD/DC Travel Fellowship (£500 each)

  • Dr Ketaki Bhate - Society for Investigative Dermatology (SID) 79th Anuual Meeting, Chicago: 5-8 May 2021

AAD 80th Annual Meeting, Boston, Massachusettes: 25-29 March 2022

  • Dr Jing Gao
  • Dr Bernard Ho
  • Dr Michael Lavery
  • Dr Amy Livesey
  • Dr Abirami Pararajasingam

Clive Archer THESIS Fellowship (£500)

  • Dr Christos Tziotzios, King's College London

Thesis title: Molecular exploration of frontal fibrosing alopecia.

Highly Commended  (£250) 

  • Dr Zainab Jiyad, St George's University of London

Thesis title: Actinic Tumours in Organ Transplant Recipients.

Emirates Dermatology Society Fellowship
Emirates Dermatology Society Annual Conference, Dubai, United Arab Emirates: 19-21 November 2020
Waived registration, complimentary flights and accommodation.

  • Dr Nusayhah Gopee report
  • Dr Sharleen Hill

Study Fellowship (£3,750)

  • Dr Sheila McSweeney - MSt in Genomic Medicine, University of Cambridge: October 2020-October 2021


BAD/DC Travel Fellowship (£500 each)

  • Dr Rakesh Anand - AAD 80th Annual Meeting, Boston, Massachusettes: 25-29 March 2022
  • Dr Charlotte Edwards - AAD Annual Meeting, Denver, Colorado: 20-24 March 2020 (Cancelled due to Covid-19)
  • Dr Maria Papanikolaou - Miami Itch Center, University of Miami, Florida: date postponed to 2021 (Cancelled due to Covid-19)
  • Dr Amr Salam - 8th World Congress of Teledermatology, Virtual (previously Seville): 5-6 November 2020 report
  • Dr Ying Xin Teo - 9th Drug Hypersensitivity Meeting, European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Verona: 2021 tbc
  • Dr Vincent Yip - ESDC Congress 2020, Amsterdam: 1-3 September 2021

Consultant Sabbatical Fellowship (£20,000)

  • Prof Rino Cerio - 1. National University of Singapore 2. Queen Mary's University of London Medical School: 20 January-31 March 2020 report

Geoffrey Dowling Fellowship (£25,000)

  • Dr Fangyi Xie - Mayo Clinic, Minnesota, USA: December 2020-December 2021

Richard B. Stoughton Memorial Fellowship - No applications received

Whimster Prize (£600 each)

  • Dr Neil Rajan
  • Dr Christos Tziotzios

The next round of Postgraduate Fellowships and Awards is Winter 2022 and the closing date is 10 January 2022 20:00 GMT.
Please note there are no fixed deadlines for the Global Dermatology Bursary and Roger Harman African Travelling Fellowship, and applications may be made throughout the year.
Application forms and further details are available here
Back to top