Skip to Content
Healthcare Professionals

Curriculum and SCE

The Dermatology Training Curriculum

The Dermatology Training Curriculum has been developed with the input of consultants actively involved in delivering teaching and training across the UK, trainees, service representatives and lay persons. This has been through the work of the JRCPTB and the Dermatology Specialist Advisory Committee (SAC).
This curriculum will ensure that the trainee develops the full range of generic professional capabilities and specialty specific capabilities to practice as a general consultant dermatologist in the NHS.
Satisfactory completion of training would result in a Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT), enabling recommendation to the GMC for inclusion on the Specialist Register. The trainee who completes this curriculum satisfactorily will be capable of independent unsupervised practice and will be able to perform to a consistent standard as an NHS general dermatology consultant, whether employed in a District General Hospital or a large Specialist Tertiary centre. 

Dermatology higher specialist training will normally be an indicative four year programme. There will be options for those trainees who demonstrate exceptional development and acquisition of capabilities to complete training more rapidly than the current indicative time although it is recognised that clinical experience is a fundamental aspect of development as a good dermatologist on the GMC Specialist Register (guidance on completing training early will be available on the JRCPTB website). There may also be a small number of trainees who develop more slowly and will require an extension of training in line with the Reference Guide for Postgraduate Specialty Training in the UK (The Gold Guide).

New Curriculum: Transitioning Guide

This short guide has been developed to help both trainees and supervisors transition to the new curriculum which has been implemented by the GMC from August 2021. The guide includes samples for trainees who have completed ST3. 

Please note that trainees cannot link evidence or be signed off on the Syllabus Guidance (also new on the JRCPTB website) as it is not part of assessment on the portfolio now. However, it will act as a syllabus for the SCE exam and will give trainees guidance on more of the detail that you need to know for the exam.

Specialty Certificate Examination (SCE) in Dermatology

The BAD, in partnership with the Federation of Royal Colleges of Physicians of the UK has embarked upon a programme to deliver the Specialty Certificate Examination in Dermatology.
The Specialty Certificate Examination (SCE) is a compulsory component of assessment for Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT) for all UK trainees whose specialist training in Dermatology began in or after August 2007. The examination complements workplace-based assessments and ensures that trainees have sufficient knowledge to practice safely and competently as consultants. The first SCE in Dermatology took place in September 2009.

Anyone who is in a type 1 higher specialty training post (i.e. has an NTN) or who has MRCP(UK) is eligible to sit the examination. 
For more information on SCEs, dates and fees, visit  Membership of the Royal College of Physicians of the United Kingdom (MRCPUK)
Further SCE practice sessions are available on e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH)
Back to top