Skip to Content
Healthcare Professionals

AI Development Working Party Group

The BAD AI Working Group has been convened with the following aims:
a) To promote and take a strategic view of integrating AI interventions in dermatology
b) To support dermatology departments to ensure that safe and effective AI interventions are adopted 
c) To provide quality standards for adoption of AI interventions in dermatology care pathways.
There is immense potential to improve the diagnosis and precision management of skin diseases through AI Interventions (any health intervention which relies upon an AI component to serve its purpose, with a specific focus on technologies using machine learning   / machine learning component to serve its purpose). The BAD welcomes the introduction of appropriately regulated and governed uses of AI interventions to enhance our clinical practice and improve patient outcomes. We believe that AI has the potential to standardise may aspects of clinical care, optimise processes and allow greater use of clinical data to inform best practice and outcomes. 

The AI Working Party Group are undertaking the following activities to address these aims:

  1. Issue a Position Statement on AI Interventions
  2. Develop a clinically useful UK Skin Image Database designed to train, test and validate AI algorithms
  3. Undertake e-Delphi exercises to define what clinicians who manage patients with skin disease and patients with skin diseases, believe are the most important clinical needs that AI approaches could address
  4. Explore the patient perspective of AI interventions / approaches which are taken to address unmet needs in skin disease
  5. Develop standards setting for development and deployment of AI interventions in dermatology

The current members of the multidisciplinary AI WPG include:

Dr Rubeta Matin (Chair)

Tania von Hospenthal (Director, Clinical Services Unit)

Dr Tanya Bleiker (President of BAD)

Dr Piu Banerjee (Clinical Vice President)

Dr Matthew Alexander (TOPOL Fellow)

Dr David de Berker (Consultant Dermatologist)

Dr Carolyn Charman (Chair of British Teledermatology Subcommittee)

Professor Alastair Denniston (Consultant Opthalmologist)

Dr Jac Dinnes (Senior Methodologist)

Dr Indra Joshi (Chair NHSX AI Lab / Representative)

Dr Emma Le Roux (General Practictioner)

Dr Xiaoxuan Liu (Opthalmology Specialist Trainee)

Dr Magnus Lynch (Consultant Dermatologist)

Dr Colin Morton (Consultant Dermatologist)

Dr Fiona Walter (Reader/Principal Researcher and Academic General Practitioner)

Professor Emanuele Trucco (NRP Chair of Computational Vision in Computing)

Professor Reiko Tanaka (Computational Systems Biology)

Back to top