Skip to Content
Healthcare Professionals

Postgraduate Awards for BAD members

Closing date for applications: 6 January and 6 May 20:00 GMT each year.

This does not apply to the Dowling Club Overseas Trip and NIHR/BAD Award.

Applicants are advised to download the application forms, and carefully read and adhere to the application conditions.

American Academy of Dermatology Registration Scholarship
Deadline: 6 May each year
American Academy of Dermatology Annual Meetings are usually held in February or March. Four registration scholarships are available for trainees to attend the AAD Annual Meeting in 2020. Successful candidates will receive:
a) Complimentary registration for the meeting (20-24 March 2020: Denver, Colorado)
b) Free admission to one post-graduate ticketed session (pre-selected)
c) An invitation to a dinner with AAD leadership
d) $1,000 USD stipend
Scholarships are open to members of the BAD and/or Dowling Club, members should apply in May for an AAD Scholarship in the Spring preceding the meeting they wish to attend. Please note previous AAD Scholarship recipients are not eligible.
BAD/DC SAS Travel Fellowship
Deadline: 6 May each year
Two travel fellowships of £500 each, are available every Spring specifically for BAD and/or Dowling Club members who hold SAS posts and wish to visit a dermatology centre or attend a dermatology meeting overseas.
BAD/DC Travel Fellowship
Deadline: 6 January and 6 May each year
Six travel fellowships of £500 each are awarded twice per year jointly by the BAD and Dowling Club for members in the UK or Ireland who wish to visit centres or to attend specific dermatological meetings overseas.
Consultant Sabbatical Fellowship
Deadline: 6 January each year
An award of up to £20,000 is available each Winter to assist a Consultant member with the equivalent of at least 2 months full-time study/research over a period of 12 months.
Dermatology Education Bursary
Deadline: 6 May each year
An award of £5,000 is available for either associate trainee, trainee or consultant and registered for a higher degree such as a Masters or a PhD in Medical Education to assist with the proposed area of research which must be directly related to Dermatology Education at any level.
Dowling Club Overseas Trip - Nepal
Deadline: 16 September 2018
Three BAD Travel Fellowships of £750 topped up to £1000 by the Dowling Club are available to support members who wish to attend the Dowling Club Overseas Trip to Nepal on 5-15 April 2019.
Emirates Dermatology Society Fellowship
Deadline: 6 May each year
The Emirates Dermatology Society are offering awarding two fellowships for BAD trainees to attend the Annual Conference. Successful candidates will receive:
a) Waived registration to the conference (exact date for 2019 tbc - Abu Dhabi, UAE)
b) Flights
c) Accommodation
Geoffrey Dowling Fellowship
Deadline: 6 January each year
An award of £25,000 is available each Winter to assist a member with study/research overseas for a period of 1 to 2 years.
Deadline: 20 October 2018
Professors Chris Griffiths and Hywel Williams, NIHR Senior Investigators, have joined with the British Association of Dermatologists to reward those that have made outstanding contribution to delivering NIHR studies. Two awards of £1,000 are available in 2018.
The prizes are open to NHS dermatology consultants and trainees/SAS doctors (one award to each) who tirelessly recruit into NIHR studies and how they have managed to transform research participation in their department. This award is designed to recognise and support those working hard at the coal-face of recruitment. The funding is to be used to continue supporting future NIHR research activities.
The funding in 2018 for this prize is in its ultimate year. Do not miss the opportunity to apply for recognition of your hard work for this award.
Roger Harman African Travelling Fellowship
Deadline: 6 January each year
The fellowship enables members to visit Africa for education purposes was established in memory of Dr Roger Harman and is funded by the BAD. There are several separate grants available of a joined value of £10,000. Hopefully they will encourage members to make shorter trips to perhaps teach at centres in Africa.
Study Fellowship
Deadline: 6 May each year
An award of £3,750 is available each year to assist a member with the equivalent of up to 3 months full-time study/research over a period of 12 months in the UK or Ireland.
Whimster Prize
Deadline: 6 January 2020
The prize is awarded on the basis of work published in the preceding three years in the field of experimental pathology of the skin. This prize of £600 is awarded in the Winter every three years, the next round will be available in 2020.
Wycombe Prize
Deadline: 6 January 2019
This prize is for an outstanding contribution to dermatology. It is awarded every two years and material published in the previous 3 years would be eligible. The publication should have arisen from work carried out at a hospital in the UK or Ireland. The prize consists of £200 and ‘The Wycombe Chair,’ a boxed miniature replica in silver of a Windsor chair, to be held by the winner for their tenure. The next prize is available in 2019.

Clive Archer THESIS Fellowship
Deadline: 1st March each year
This Fellowship is awarded once a year by The Skin Investigation Society (THESIS) to the dermatology trainee who has completed the best M.D. or Ph.D. thesis. The award of £500 will be made in retrospect once the higher degree has been awarded by an appropriate university. In 2019 only higher degrees awarded* before 31st December 2018 will be considered for the Clive Archer THESIS Fellowship.
Theses submitted for consideration of the Clive Archer THESIS Fellowship will be donated to the THESIS Library for which there is a separate payment of £35 towards the cost of the binding. 
As a condition of receiving the prize, the winner must give a presentation at the THESIS/BAD/BSID meeting which takes place in June each year at Willan House, London.
Applications should be sent electronically to: Siu Tsang and a hard-bound copy of the thesis via post to:
Dr Mike Ardern-Jones
British Association of Dermatologists
Willan House
4 Fitzroy Square
W1T 5HQ 
*or Thesis signed off by examiners after corrections from oral examination 
Back to top